HERC Region 7 Governance

The Southeast Wisconsin Healthcare Emergency Readiness Coalition, Inc. (HERC Region 7) consists of member organizations and agencies from various disciplines.  All members organizations in HERC Region 7 are assigned to one of 8 caucuses.  The 8 caucuses are:
Clinics/Community Health Centers
Community and Private Organizations
Emergency Management
Emergency Medical Services/Public Safety
Hospitals/Healthcare Systems
Long-term Care Facilities
Public Health
Southeast Wisconsin Regional Trauma Advisory Council (SERTAC)

Click here to see descriptions of each caucus.

The members of each caucus elect one individual to serve as the Caucus Chair, to speak for the caucus. The eight Caucus Chairs form the HERC Board of Directors (i.e. each Caucus Chair is also a Board Director). The Board of Directors is responsible for setting the overall objectives of the coalition.

The Board of Directors elects a Chair, Vice-Chair, Secretary, and Treasurer from the membership. These four officers, along with the Immediate Past Chair, the HERC Coordinator, and the HERC Regional Medical Advisor, form the HERC Executive Committee. The HERC Executive Committee is responsible for executing the business of HERC, as determined by our members and our Board of Directors.

HERC Region 7 receives general goals and objectives from the Wisconsin Healthcare Emergency Preparedness Program (WHEPP) and the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services’ Assistant Secretary for Preparedness and Response (HHS/ASPR). HERC’s members and Board of Directors help determine how our region will best meet the state and federal goals and objectives.

For a list of the current Board of Directors and Executive Committee, click here.
For the current version of the HERC Region 7 bylaws, click here (member log-in required).
For the current state and federal goals/objectives, click here (member log-in required).